Special Education

15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA  92128
Phone: (858) 521-2800  Ext. 2216, Fax: (858) 485-1501

 

Special Education Directory

SPECIAL EDUCATION DIRECTORY

SPECIAL EDUCATION Main Office
Address: 
15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA  92128
Phone: (858) 521-2800 Ext.2216    Fax:  (858) 485-1501
NAME PHONE EMAIL
Greg Mizel, Associate Superintendent 1 858-521-2800 x2823 gmizel@powayusd.com
     Lindsay Lerma, Executive Assistant 1 858-521-2800 x2832 llerma@powayusd.com
Jeanette Anderson, Director II, SELPA 1 858-521-2800 x2822 jeaanderson@powayusd.com
     Danielle Strauss, Admin Assistant 1 858-521-2800 x2819 dstrauss@powayusd.com
Jodi Payne, Director II, Family Engagement, Support and Resolution 1 858-521-2800 x2816 jpayne@powayusd.com
     Maria Buendia, Admin Assistant  1 858-521-2800 x2821 mbuendia@powayusd.com
Heather Schauder, Director II, Elementary 1 858-521-2800 x2837 hschauder@powayusd.com
     Annemarie Carter, Admin Assistant  1 858-521-2800 x2759 acarter@powayusd.com
Tiffany King, Director II, Secondary 1 858-521-2800 x2815 tiking@powayusd.com
     Maria Marquez, Admin Assistant  1 858-521-2800 x2212 mmarquez@powayusd.com
Kathy Meyer, Budget/Contracts 1 858-521-2800 x2217 kameyer@powayusd.com 
Vacant, Sr. Business Systems Support Analyst 1 858-521-2800 x2307  
Annemargaret Beck, Office Specialist 1 858-521-2800 x2238 anbeck@powayusd.com
Program Specialists ~ Location: District Office
Greg Burrows
PAT, Regional Center Transitions, PK Intakes, PK RSP and FI, ESY
1 858-484-8661  x3723 gburrows@powayusd.com
Monica Gideon
CSES, MRES, RHES, SDES, TBKES
1 858-521-2800 x2818 mgideon@powayusd.com
Megan Harkins Mobarak
CVES, Connect Academy, GRES, HRES, SHES, VES
1 858-521-2800 x2219 mharkinsmobarak@powayusd.com
Trish James
DSES, LPES, POMES, SRES, WWES
1 858-521-2800 x2814 pjames@powayusd.com
Michelle Jilly
BHMS, TPMS, DNHS
1 858-521-2800 x2210 mjilly@powayusd.com
Judy Monday
ABES, DCES, MIDES, PRES, PVES
1 858-521-2800 x2813 jmonday@powayusd.com
Meghan Moore
CHES, MCES, SCES, TBES, WGES
1 858-521-2800 x-2726 mmoore@powayusd.com
Laura Mueller
AHS, ESY, ND, TPP/WA
1 858-521-2800 x2824 lmueller@powayusd.com
Sara Nielsen
D39C, MVMS, OVMS, WHS
1 858-521-2800 x2213 snielsen@powayusd.com
Stephen Whittaker
BMMS + PAL, MCHS + PAL, RBHS
1 858-521-2800 x2214 swhittaker@powayusd.com
Kelly Xitco
BASES: SRES, MBMS, PHS, NCA, NPS/RTC/ERMHS
1 858-521-2800 x2211 kxitco@powayusd.com

Special Education Departments

Adapted Physical Education ~ Location: District Office
Kevin Armbruster, Teacher 1 858-668-4121 karmbruster@powayusd.com
Jeff Creese, Teacher 1 858-668-4166 jcreese@powayusd.com
John Downing, Teacher 1 858-668-4120 jodowning@powayusd.com
Jill Haverly, Teacher 1 858-668-4134 jhaverly@powayusd.com
Andrew Vang 1 858-668-4083 mvang@powayusd.com
Brad Schipke, Teacher 1 858-668-4082 bschipke@powayusd.com
Lauren Tomp   ltomp@powayusd.com
Assistive Technology ~ Location: Shoal Creek Elementary, 11775 Shoal Creek Drive, 92128 (Rm. SC12)
Katie Larew, Teacher 1 858-613-9080 x4712 klarew@powayusd.com
Kitty Wong, Speech & Language Pathologist 1 858-613-9080 x3726 kwong@powayusd.com
Naomi Walden, Resource Technician 1 858-613-9080 x4712 nwalden@powausd.com
Behavior Support Team ~ Location: Mesa Verde Middle School, 8375 Entreken Way (Rm. 709)
Beth Mori, Teacher 1 858-484-8661  x3725 bmori@powayusd.com
Katie Romero, Teacher 1 858-538-5478  x3708 kromero@powayusd.com
Jenna Sleichter, Teacher 1 858-484-8661  x3722 jsleichter@powayusd.com
Julie DeScenzo, Teacher 1 858-484-8661 x3709 jdescenzo@powayusd.com
Kara Flores, Behavioral Intervention Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-8661 x3709 klofres@powayusd.com
Leslie Kaminski, Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-8661 x3709 lkaminski@powayusd.com
Deaf / Hard of Hearing Program ~ Location: Mt. Carmel High School, 9550 Carmel Mountain Road (Rm. Z8)
Jackie Capie, Teacher 1 858-484-1180  x3710 jcapie@powayusd.com
Danielle Clark, Teacher 1 858-484-1180 x3709 daclark@powayusd.com
Gwen Suennen, Teacher 1 858-484-1180  x3706 gsuennen@powayusd.com
Elizabeth Stathatos, Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-1180  x3707 estathatos@powayusd.com
Health Services ~ Location:  District Office
Alison Antoine, Resource Nurse
DNHS, DSES, SDES, TBKES
1 858-521-2800 x2809 aantoine@powayusd.com
JoAnn Chauvapun, Resrouce Nurse
ABES, CVES, WHS, Preschool Assessment
1 858-521-2800 x2805 jchauvapun@powayusd.com
John Fitzgerald, Resource Nurse
CHES, DCES, MBMS, MCES, MVMS
1 858-521-2800 x2808 jofitzgerald@powayusd.com
Kari Glandorf, Resource Nurse
AHS, CRES, PMES
1 858-521-2800 x2803 kglandorf@powayusd.com
Shannon Morris-Kornacki, Resource Nurse
MRES, OVMS, PRES, SRES, WWES
1 858-521-2800 x2806 smorriskornacki@powayusd.com
Stacy Munro, Resource Nurse
D39C, LPES, SCES, WGES, Private & Non-Public Schools
1 858-521-2800 x2807 smunro@powayusd.com
Ann Smits, Resource Nurse
GRES, HRES, PHS, TBES, TPMS
1-858-521-2800 x2811 asmits@powayusd.com
Laurie Snyder, Resource Nurse
BMMS, LPES, MCHS, OVES, RHES, SHES 
1 858-521-2800 x2810 lsnyder@powayusd.com
Eva Valentine, Resource Nurse
BHMS, MDES, RBHES, VES
1 858-521-2800 x2215 evalentine@powayusd.com
        Audra Rosati, Office Specialist 1 858-521-2800 x2812 arosati@powayusd.com
Inclusion Specialists ~ Location: Adobe Bluffs Elementary, 8707 Adobe Bluffs Drive (EB-35)
Melanie Fink, Teacher 1 858-748-5900 x2115 mfink@powayusd.com
Kadee McKinney, Education Specialist - Inclusion 1 858-484-8661 x4709 kmckinney@powayusd.com
Dena Riedl, Teacher 1 858-484-8661  x3703 driedl@powayusd.com
Franny Chin, Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-8661  x3704 fchin@powayusd.com
Concetta Matosian, Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-8661  x3704 cmatosian@powayusd.com
Karen Richcreek, Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-8661  x4709 krichcreek@powayusd.com
Inclusive Practices (Formerly Specialized Academic Instrucion/SAI)
Megan Gross, TOSA 1 858-521-2800 x2956 mgross@powayusd.com
Nancy Brundrett, Lead COSA 1 858-521-2800 x2957 nbrundrett@powayusd.com
Christina Abosamra, Elementary COSA 1 858-521-2800 x2958 cabosamra@powayusd.com
Alex Hatch, Secondary COSA 1 858-521-2800 x2960 ahatch@powayusd.com
Mental Health Case Manager ERMHS/Non-Public School Case Manager ~ Location: District Office
Kylee Moore, Psychologist 1 858-521-2800 x2218 kymoore@powayusd.com
Sandra Cummings, Psychologist 1 858-521-2800  x2208 scummings@powayusd.com
Michelle Fouts-Doig, Psychologist 1 858-521-2800  x2209 mfoutsdoig@powayusd.com
Occupational Therapists ~ Location: Mt. Carmel High School, 9550 Carmel Mountain Road (MCHS Z6)
Kelsey McKinney, Lead Occupational Therapist (Voicemail) 801-4081 kemckinney@powayusd.com
Teri Brislin   tbrislin@powayusd.com
Ethelaine Centeno   ecenteno@powayusd.com
Tara Cicchelli   tcicchelli@powayusd.com
Karoline Coronel   kcoronel@powayusd.com
Jan Dalby   jdalby@powayusd.com
Brittany Dee   bbeam@powayusd.com
Shelly Fischer   SFischer@powayusd.com
Ana Gomez   agomez@powayusd.com
Kathryn Hamm   khamm@powayusd.com
Amber Jessen   ajessen@powayusd.com
Kiersten Kilbride-Johnson   kkilbridejohnson@powayusd.com
Christine Ledgerwood   cledgerwood@powayusd.com
Sin Mak   smak@powayusd.com
Mary Anne McDonald   mmcdonald@powayusd.com
Julie Neargarder   jneargarder@powayusd.com
Tiffany Nichols-Roy   tnicholsroy@powayusd.com
Ashley Phillips   aphillips@powayusd.com
Kathryn Regan   kregan@powayusd.com
Kesley Sato   ksato@powayusd.com
Betsy Slavik   bslavik@powayusd.com
Brittany Thompson   bthompson@powayusd.com
Tiffani Zumwalt   tzumwalt@powayusd.com
Physical Therapist ~ Location: Mt. Carmel High School, 9550 Carmel Mountain Road (MCHS Z6)
Daniel Cicchelli, Physical Therapist ‚Äč(Voicemail) 801-4081 dcicchelli@powayusd.com
Parent Liaison
Deborah Williford 1 858-521-2800 x2959 dwilliford@powayusd.com
Preschool Assessment Team ~ Location: Westview High School, 13500 Camino Del Sur (Room A127)
Fax: (858) 484-8595
Greg Burrows, Program Specialist 1 858-484-8661  x3723 gburrows@powayusd.com
Stacy Benson, SpEd PreK Teacher 1 858-484-5621 x3301  sbenson@powayusd.com
Karin Cameron, SpEd PreK Teacher 1 858-484-8661  x3721 kcameron@powayusd.com
Katelyn Odom, Speech-Language Pathologist 1 858-484-8661  x3712 kodom@powayusd.com
Helen Williams,  Speech-Language Pathologist 1 858-484-8661  x3718 hwilliams@powayusd.com
Monica Ritchie, School Psychologist 1 858-484-8661  x3719 mritchie@powayusd.com
Samantha Waskowski, School Psychologist 1 858-484-8661  x3711 swasowski@powayusd.com
        Rebeca Cohen, Office Assistant 1 858-484-8661  x3742 rcohen@powayusd.com
Private School Placements ~ Location:  Shoal Creek Elementary, 11775 Shoal Creek Drive (SC10 & SC12)
Heather Lees, Teacher/Resource Specialist 1 858-613-9080 x4710 hlees@powayusd.com
Jill Housand, Speech & Language Pathologist 1 858-613-9080 x4724 jhousand@powayusd.com
Janice Gapasin, Psychologist 1 858-613-9080 x4720 jgapasin@powayusd.com
Transition Partnership Program / Workability Program ~ Location: Mt. Carmel High School, 9550 Carmel Mountain Road (MCHS-Z6)
Laura Mueller, Program Specialist 1 858-521-2800 x2824 lmueller@powayusd.com
Lynn Bigsby, Vocational Development Specialist 1 858-484-1180 x3733 lbigsby@powayusd.com
Felicia Velte, Vocational Development Specialist 1 858-484-1180 x3436 fvelte@powayusd.com
Susan Wilson, Vocational Development Specialist 1 858-484-1180 x3437 swilson@powayusd.com
Visually Impaired Program ~ Location: Poway High & Meadowbrook Middle, Fax: (858) 748-4314
Hangameh Aubuchon, Teacher/Orientation and Mobility Specialist 1 858-748-0245  x5163 haubuchon@powayusd.com
Tracy Capelletti, Teacher 1 858-748-0245  x5163 tcappelletti@powayusd.com
Kathy Kaser, Braille Transcriber 1 858-748-0245  x5163 kkaser@powayusd.com
Shawna Michel, Instructional Assistant 1 858-748-0245  x5163 smichel@powayusd.com

 

The Poway Unified School District (PUSD) is an equal opportunity employer/program and is committed to an active Nondiscrimination Program. PUSD prohibits discrimination, harassment, intimidation, and bullying based on actual or perceived race, color, ancestry, national origin, nationality, immigration status, ethnicity, ethnic group identification, age, religion, marital or parental status, physical or mental ability, sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, or gender expression or association with a person or a group with one or more of these actual or perceived characteristics. For more information, please contact: Title IX/Equity Compliance Officer, James Jimenez, Associate Superintendent of Personnel Support Services, Poway Unified School District, 15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA 92128, 1-858-521-2800, extension 2121, jjimenez@powayusd.com. For students, you may contact Title IX Coordinator Jamie Dayhoff, Director of Attendance and Discipline, Poway Unified School District, 1-858-521-2840, jdayhoff@powayusd.com

 View Annual Notification of Parents’/Students’ Rights English  | SpanishProfessional Standards  | Annual Notification of Employees’ Rights

POWAY UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT | 15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA 92128 | (858) 521-2800