Four PUSD students named 2023 Regeneron Science Talent Search Scholars

(San Diego, CA) – Four students from Poway Unified School District were named 2023 scholars in the Regeneron Science Talent Search, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious science and math competition. They join 300 high school scholars from across the United States and North America, selected from nearly 2,000 applications.

The four Poway Unified students named as 2023 Regeneron Science scholars are:
  • Andrew Y. Zhang, Del Norte High School
    Project Title: A Novel Blood-Based MicroRNA Diagnostic Model With High Accuracy for Multi-Cancer Early Detection
  • Anna Lumin Liu, Rancho Bernardo High School
    Project Title: A Selective Removal of Carboxylated Perfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS) via Silver-Assisted Coagulation
  • Ayush Nayak, Westview High School
    Project Title: Development of InSb/Si Quantum Dots for Next-Generation Multivalued High-Transport Transistor Technology
  • Ellen Xu, Del Norte High School
    Project Title: A Deep Convolutional Neural Network for Kawasaki Disease Diagnosis
On January 24, 40 finalists will be named out of the 300 scholars to continue in the competition for more than $1.8 million in awards during a week-long competition in Washington, D.C. Winners of the competition will be announced in March. The Regeneron Science Talent Search, owned and produced by the Society of Science, recognizes and empowers the nation’s most promising young scientists who are generating innovative solutions to solve significant global challenges through rigorous research and discoveries. The competition is held for high school seniors who enter the competition by submitting their original, independent research projects, essays, and recommendations. Scholarship winners are chosen based on their outstanding research, leadership skills, community involvement, commitment to academics, creativity in asking scientific questions and exceptional promise as STEM leaders demonstrated. Each scholar will be awarded a $2,000 scholarship and their schools will be awarded $2,000 for each enrolled scholar.