Summer Assignments for 2019


Summer Assignments
Class Teacher Contact Instructions
AP Studio Art  Hensey hhensey@powayusd.com AP Art Instructions
AP Biology  Chrispeels  achrispeels@powayusd.com  AP Biology Summer Assignment 2018-19AP Biology Summer 2018 Book Selections
Book Project Examples:
  You do not need to check out the textbook over the summer. It will be distributed during registration and at the beginning of the school year.
AP Calculus AB  Adam  madam@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP Calculus BC Zeis kzeis@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP Computer Sci  Pike  mpike@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP CS Principles  Pike  mpike@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP Chemistry  Manly  tmanly@powayusd.com Instructions: AP Chemistry Summer Assignment 
Handout for Part III: Part III Chemistry to be Understood
The Weighing Game by Isaac Asimov (Part IV): The Weighting Game
In order to access to the textbook, you may use the online version (instructions in Part I) or check the book out from the library.
AP English Lang  McMillan
Rangel
 kmcmillan@powayusd.com
erangel@powayusd.com
Instructions

Task I: Academic Honesty Policies

Task II: MLA Makeover  - To be edited: "Sleep for Success!" Succeeds as a Non-fiction Book

Task III: Read The Crucible by Arthur Miller. The text can be found in the big yellow Language of Literature textbook. Crucible Charts

Task IV: Writing with a Purpose notes pp. 155-174
AP English Lit  Graber  jgraber@powayusd.com  Read each of the following:
- The American Dream by Edward Albee
- Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller (if you have already read this in a previous class, please instead read A Long Day's Journey into Night by Eugene O'Neil)
- stories from the Old Testament: Adam and Eve, Cain and Abel, Abraham, Moses, David and Goliath, Sampson, Job, Joshua, Joseph, Daniel, Solomon
- stories from the New Testament: the birth of Jesus, the Loaves and Fishes, Lazarus, the Last Supper, the Garden of Gethsemane, the Passion and Crucifixion of Jesus, the Resurrection
(note on the Bible stories: you may read either the text in any translation or a summary version of the stories, but make sure you are familiar with the plot and characters of each story)
- CHOOSE ONE: The Stranger by Albert Camus OR Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder
- any collection of poetry

There is no written work due at the beginning of the term; however, be prepared to write in-class essays based on the summer reading during the first few weeks of class.

The library has some of the necessary materials for checkout. Come see Mr. Dato or Ms. Potts if you would like to check the books out over the summer.
AP Environmental Sci  Van Pelt  svanpelt@powayusd.com  APES Summer Assignment Instructions

Please stop by the library to check out your textbook: Living in the Environment (14th ed)
AP European History  Talley rtalley@powayusd.com  Please check out the two textbooks Western Civilization since 1300 by Jackson Spielvogel and the Fast Track to a 5: Preparing for the AP European History Examination from the library.

Summer Assignment
AP French  Dugo  mdugo@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP German  Von Ehrenstein-Smith  mvonehrenstein@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP Government  Waasted  jwaasted@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP Human Geo  McKee  jmckee@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP Physics  Casey-O'Brien  lcasey@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP Psychology  Ambort  bambort@powayusd.com  No summer assignment.
AP Spanish Lang  Tovar  jtovar@powayusd.com  Please come to the library and check out the textbooks Album and Temas. 

Summer assignment instructions

Grammar Support
AP Statistics  Sebastian ssebastian@powayusd.com   No summer assignment.
AP US History  Cook / Lewis  dcook@powayusd.com
clewis@powayusd.com
 No summer assignment.
 
PHS Library, 15500 Espola Rd, Poway, CA  92064 (858) 748-0245, ext. 5461
Questions or concerns?  Contact powayhslibrary@gmail.com  Or fill out our Comments & Questions form.
PHS Library mission is to foster enthusiastic readers~critical thinkers~effective collaborators~productive users of technologies~ global citizens~ethical information users~lifelong learners
 
It is the goal of the Poway Unified School District that this website is accessible to all users. You can view our accessibility statement here.  Please contact our Web Administrator for any accessibility issues at webmaster@powayusd.com.

The Poway Unified School District (PUSD) is an equal opportunity employer/program and is committed to an active Nondiscrimination Program. PUSD prohibits discrimination, harassment, intimidation, and bullying based on actual or perceived race, color, ancestry, national origin, nationality, immigration status, ethnicity, ethnic group identification, age, religion, marital or parental status, physical or mental ability, sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, or gender expression or association with a person or a group with one or more of these actual or perceived characteristics. For more information, please contact: Title IX/Equity Compliance Officer, James Jimenez, Associate Superintendent of Personnel Support Services, Poway Unified School District, 15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA 92128, 858-521-2800, extension 2761, jjimenez@powayusd.com

Poway Unified School District, 15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA 92128-3406