Special Education

15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA  92128
Phone: (858) 521-2800  Ext. 2216, Fax: (858) 485-1501

 

Special Education Directory

SPECIAL EDUCATION DIRECTORY

SPECIAL EDUCATION Main Office
Address: 
15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA  92128
Phone: (858) 521-2800 Ext.2216    Fax:  (858) 485-1501
NAME PHONE EMAIL
Greg Mizel, Associate Superintendent 1 858-521-2800 x2823 gmizel@powayusd.com
     Lindsay Lerma, Executive Assistant 1 858-521-2800 x2832 llerma@powayusd.com
Jeanette Anderson, Director II, SELPA 1 858-521-2800 x2822 jeaanderson@powayusd.com
     Danielle Strauss, Admin Assistant 1 858-521-2800 x2819 dstrauss@powayusd.com
Jodi Payne, Director II, Family Engagement, Support and Resolution 1 858-521-2800 x2816 jpayne@powayusd.com
     Maria Buendia, Admin Assistant  1 858-521-2800 x2821 mbuendia@powayusd.com
Heather Schauder, Director II, Elementary 1 858-521-2800 x2837 hschauder@powayusd.com
     Annemarie Carter, Admin Assistant  1 858-521-2800 x2759 acarter@powayusd.com
Tiffany King, Director II, Secondary 1 858-521-2800 x2815 tiking@powayusd.com
     Maria Marquez, Admin Assistant  1 858-521-2800 x2212 mmarquez@powayusd.com
Ksheera Hegde, Budget/Contracts 1 858-521-2800 x2217 khegde@powayusd.com
Dorinda Soucek, Office Specialist 1 858-521-2800 x2824 dsoucek@powayusd.com
Julia Zamudio-Tristan, Office Specialist (SEIS) 1 858-521-2800 x2238 jzamudiotristan@powayusd.com
Program Specialists - Located at PUSD District Office
Lori Abraham
Sunset Hills, Westwood, Willow Grove, Black Mountain
1 858-521-2800 x2726 labraham@powayusd.com
Eren Clark
Meadowbrook, Poway
1 858-521-2800 x2211 erclark@powayusd.com
Sarah Cushing
Chaparral, Creekside, Garden Road, Shoal Creek, Tierra Bonita
1 858-521-2800 x2307 scushing@powayusd.com
Monica Gideon
Monerey RIdge, Morning Creek, Rolling Hills, Sundance, Turtleback
1 858-521-2800 x2818 mgideon@powayusd.com
Megan Harkins-Mobarak
Canyon View, Design 39 Campus, Stone Ranch, Extended School Year
1 858-521-2800 x2219 mharkinsmobarak@powayusd.com
Trish James
Del Sur, Highland Ranch, Los Pen, Midland, Pomerado
1 858-521-2800 x2814 pjames@powayusd.com
Michelle Jilly
Mesa Verde, Westview, Extended School Year
1 858-521-2800 x2210 mjilly@powayusd.com
Anna Klin
Oak Valley, Del Norte
1 858-521-2800 x2225 aklin@powayusd.com
Judy Monday
Adobe Bluffs, Connect Academy, Deer Canyon, Painted Rock, Park Village
1 858-521-2800 x2813 jmonday@powayusd.com
Laura Mueller
Abraxas
  lmueller@powayusd.com
Juan Treminio
Valley, Bernardo Heights, Twin Peaks
1 858-521-2800 x2213 jtreminio@powayusd.com
Stephen Whittaker
Mt. Carmel, Rancho Bernardo, Alternative Programs, Extended School Year
1 858-521-2800 x2214 swhittaker@powayusd.com

Special Education Departments

Adapted Physical Education
Kevin Armbruster, Teacher 1 858-668-4121 karmbruster@powayusd.com
Jeff Creese, Teacher 1 858-668-4166 jcreese@powayusd.com
John Downing, Teacher 1 858-668-4120 jodowning@powayusd.com
Jill Haverly, Teacher 1 858-668-4134 jhaverly@powayusd.com
Andrew Vang 1 858-668-4083 mvang@powayusd.com
Brad Schipke, Teacher 1 858-668-4082 bschipke@powayusd.com
Lauren Tomp   ltomp@powayusd.com
Assistive Technology - Located at Shoal Creek Elementary (SC12)
Katie Larew, Teacher 1 858-613-9080 x4712 klarew@powayusd.com
Brietta Cooper, Teacher 1 858-613-9080 x4712 bcooper@powayusd.com 
Kitty Wong, Speech & Language Pathologist 1 858-613-9080 x3726 kwong@powayusd.com
Naomi Walden, Resource Technician 1 858-613-9080 x4712 nwalden@powausd.com
Behavior Support Team - Located at  Mesa Verde Middle School (709)
Beth Mori, Teacher 1 858-484-8661  x3725 bmori@powayusd.com
Katie Romero, Teacher 1 858-538-5478  x3708 kromero@powayusd.com
Jenna Sleichter, Teacher 1 858-484-8661  x3722 jsleichter@powayusd.com
Julie DeScenzo, Teacher 1 858-484-8661 x3709 jdescenzo@powayusd.com
Leslie Kaminski, Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-8661 x3709 lkaminski@powayusd.com
Deaf / Hard of Hearing Program - Located at Mt. Carmel High School (Z8)
Jackie Capie, Teacher 1 858-484-1180  x3710 jcapie@powayusd.com
Danielle Clark, Teacher 1 858-484-1180 x3709 daclark@powayusd.com
Gwen Suennen, Teacher 1 858-484-1180  x3706 gsuennen@powayusd.com
Elizabeth Stathatos, Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-1180  x3707 estathatos@powayusd.com
Health Services - Located at PUSD District Office
Alison Antoine, Resource Nurse
Del Sur, Sundance, Turtleback, Del Norte
1 858-521-2800 x2809 aantoine@powayusd.com
Laura Calderon, Resource Nurse
Morning Creek, Pomerado, Mesa Verde
1 858-521-2800 x2803 lcalderon@powayusd.com
JoAnn Chauvapun, Resrouce Nurse
Adobe Bluffs, Canyon View, Preschool Assessment, Westview
1 858-521-2800 x2805 jchauvapun@powayusd.com
Shannon Morris-Kornacki, Resource Nurse
Monterey Ridge, Painted Rock, Stone Ranch, Westwood, Oak Valley
1 858-521-2800 x2806 smorriskornacki@powayusd.com
Stacy Munro, Resource Nurse
Los Pen, Shoal Creek, Willow Grove, Design 39, Non-Public and Private Schools
1 858-521-2800 x2807 smunro@powayusd.com
Ann Smits, Resource Nurse
Garden Road, Highland Ranch, Tierra Bonita, Meadowbrook, Poway
1-858-521-2800 x2811 asmits@powayusd.com
Mia Sneag, Resource Nurse
Chaparral, Deer Canyon, Valley, Twin Peaks, Abraxas
1-858-521-2800 x2808 msneag@powayusd.com
Laurie Snyder, Resource Nurse
Park Village, Rollings Hills, Sunset Hills, Black Mountain, Mt. Carmel
1 858-521-2800 x2810 lsnyder@powayusd.com
Eva Valentine, Resource Nurse
Creekside, Midland, Bernardo Heights, Rancho Bernardo
1 858-521-2800 x2215 evalentine@powayusd.com
        Luz Kirton, Office Specialist 1 858-521-2800 x2812 lkirton@powayusd.com
Inclusion Specialists - Located at Shoal Creek Elementary, 11775 Shoal Creek Drive (SC9)
Kadee McKinney, Education Specialist 1 858-613-9080  x4709 kmckinney@powayusd.com
Dena Riedl, Teacher 1 858-613-9080  x4709 driedl@powayusd.com
Franny Chin, Instructional Assistant 1 858-613-9080  x4709 fchin@powayusd.com
Karen Richcreek, Instructional Assistant 1 858-484-8661  x4709 krichcreek@powayusd.com
Inclusive Practices Team - Located at Shoal Creek Elementary (SC1) and Twin Peaks Middle
Megan Gross, TOSA 1 858-521-2800 x2956 mgross@powayusd.com
Laura Snow, TOSA   lsnow@powayusd.com
Nancy Brundrett, Lead COSA 1 858-521-2800 x2957 nbrundrett@powayusd.com
Christina Abosamra, Elementary COSA 1 858-521-2800 x2958 cabosamra@powayusd.com
Alex Hatch, Secondary COSA 1 858-521-2800 x2960 ahatch@powayusd.com
Mental Health Case Manager ERMHS/Non-Public School Case Manager - Located at PUSD District Office
Lisa Yates, Psychologist 1 858-521-2800  x2218 lyates@powayusd.com
Sandra Cummings, Psychologist 1 858-521-2800  x2208 scummings@powayusd.com
Michelle Fouts-Doig, Psychologist 1 858-521-2800  x2209 mfoutsdoig@powayusd.com
Occupational Therapists - Located at Mt. Carmel High School (Z6)
Kelsey McKinney, Lead Occupational Therapist (Voicemail) 801-4081 kemckinney@powayusd.com
Teri Brislin   tbrislin@powayusd.com
Ethelaine Centeno   ecenteno@powayusd.com
Tara Cicchelli   tcicchelli@powayusd.com
Karoline Coronel   kcoronel@powayusd.com
Jan Dalby   jdalby@powayusd.com
Brittany Dee   bbeam@powayusd.com
Shelly Fischer   SFischer@powayusd.com
Ana Gomez   agomez@powayusd.com
Kathryn Hamm   khamm@powayusd.com
Amber Jessen   ajessen@powayusd.com
Kiersten Kilbride-Johnson   kkilbridejohnson@powayusd.com
Christine Ledgerwood   cledgerwood@powayusd.com
Sin Mak   smak@powayusd.com
Mary Anne McDonald   mmcdonald@powayusd.com
Julie Neargarder   jneargarder@powayusd.com
Tiffany Nichols-Roy   tnicholsroy@powayusd.com
Ashley Phillips   asphillips@powayusd.com
Kathryn Regan   kregan@powayusd.com
Kesley Sato   ksato@powayusd.com
Betsy Slavik   bslavik@powayusd.com
Brittany Thompson   bthompson@powayusd.com
Physical Therapist - Located at Mt. Carmel High School (Z6)
Daniel Cicchelli, Physical Therapist ‚Äč(Voicemail) 801-4081 dcicchelli@powayusd.com
Parent Liaison - Located at PUSD District Office
Deborah Williford 1 858-521-2800 x2959 dwilliford@powayusd.com
Preschool Assessment Team - Located at Westview High School  (Room A127) | Fax: (858) 484-8595
Stacy Benson, SpEd PreK Teacher 1 858-484-5621 x3301  sbenson@powayusd.com
Karin Cameron, SpEd PreK Teacher 1 858-484-8661  x3721 kcameron@powayusd.com
Katelyn Odom, Speech-Language Pathologist 1 858-484-8661  x3712 kodom@powayusd.com
Helen Williams,  Speech-Language Pathologist 1 858-484-8661  x3718 hwilliams@powayusd.com
Monica Ritchie, School Psychologist 1 858-484-8661  x3719 mritchie@powayusd.com
Samantha Waskowski, School Psychologist 1 858-484-8661  x3711 swasowski@powayusd.com
        Rebeca Cohen, Office Assistant 1 858-484-8661  x3742 rcohen@powayusd.com
Private School Placements - Located at Shoal Creek Elementary (SC10 & SC12)
Heather Lees, Teacher/Resource Specialist 1 858-613-9080 x4710 hlees@powayusd.com
Jill Housand, Speech & Language Pathologist 1 858-613-9080 x4724 jhousand@powayusd.com
Janice Gapasin, Psychologist 1 858-613-9080 x4720 jgapasin@powayusd.com
Transition Partnership Program / Workability Program - Located at Mt. Carmel High School (Z6)
Laura Mueller, Program Specialist 1 858-521-2800 x2824 lmueller@powayusd.com
Lynn Bigsby, Vocational Development Specialist 1 858-484-1180 x3733 lbigsby@powayusd.com
Felicia Velte, Vocational Development Specialist 1 858-484-1180 x3436 fvelte@powayusd.com
Tahira Zaki, Vocational Development Specialist 1 858-484-1180 x3437 tzaki@powayusd.com
Visually Impaired Program - Located at Rancho Bernardo High School | Fax: (858) 748-4314
Hangameh Aubuchon, Teacher[TVI]/
Orientation and Mobility Specialist
1 858-748-0245  x5163 haubuchon@powayusd.com
Tracy Capelletti, Teacher of the Visually Impaired 1 858-748-0245  x5163 tcappelletti@powayusd.com
Jamy Pitts, Teacher of the Visually Impaired 1 858-748-0245  x5163 jpitts@powayusd.com
Kathy Kaser, Braille Transcriber 1 858-748-0245  x5163 kkaser@powayusd.com
TBD, Instructional Assistant 1 858-748-0245  x5163  

 

The Poway Unified School District (PUSD) is an equal opportunity employer/program and is committed to an active Nondiscrimination Program. PUSD prohibits discrimination, harassment, intimidation, and bullying based on actual or perceived race, color, ancestry, national origin, nationality, immigration status, ethnicity, ethnic group identification, age, religion, marital or parental status, physical or mental ability, sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, or gender expression or association with a person or a group with one or more of these actual or perceived characteristics. For more information, please contact: Title IX/Equity Compliance Officer, James Jimenez, Associate Superintendent of Personnel Support Services, Poway Unified School District, 15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA 92128, 1-858-521-2800, extension 2121, jjimenez@powayusd.com. For students, you may contact Title IX Coordinator/ 504 Coordinator Jamie Dayhoff, Director of Attendance and Discipline, Poway Unified School District, 1-858-521-2840, jdayhoff@powayusd.com

 View Annual Notification of Parents’/Students’ Rights English  | Spanish | Professional Standards  | Annual Notification of Employees’ Rights

POWAY UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT | 15250 Avenue of Science, San Diego, CA 92128 | (858) 521-2800