Poway Unified School District

Learning Support Services

Assessment & Accountability

MAP HELP DESK (858) 521-2800 ext.2251

Eric Lehew, Executive Director II
Vicki Creed, Executive Assistant
(858) 521-2800 ext. 2731

15250 Avenue of Science
San Diego, CA 92128




The guiding principles listed below provide the basis for the Poway Unified School District's policies and practices regarding assessment and evaluation. These guiding principles provide a focus for decision making around assessment instruments, practices, and the use of results. For more information see the District's Comprehensive Assessment Plan.

  1. GUIDING PRINCIPLE #1 The essential purpose of assessment is the improvement of student learning.
  2. GUIDING PRINCIPLE #2 Assessment must provide a comprehensive picture of student achievement
  3. GUIDING PRINCIPLE #3 Assessment must measure student growth over time
  4. GUIDING PRINCIPLE #4 Assessment must be valid and reliable
  5. GUIDING PRINCIPLE #5 Assessment data must be responsibly and efficiently collected and managed

The assessment of student progress is essential to our District's mission of "All Students Learning" and an integral component of the learning process. All learners, regardless of their ages require feedback if they are to improve their performance.

LSS Contacts

Title Name Phone Email
Executive Director Eric Lehew 2732 elehew@powayusd.com
Testing Specialist Linda Meloney 2839 lmeloney@powayusd.com
Testing Assistant Lillian Tomko 2250 ltomko@powayusd.com
MAP HELP DESK maps@powayusd.com 2251 maps@powayusd.com
Data Assistant Linda Campos 2254 lmcampos@powayusd.com
Data Assistant Manolo Motos 2252 mmotos@powayusd.com
Data Assistant Pauline Moroz 2253 pmoroz@powayusd.com
Sr. ISSA Laura Mauro 2238 lmauro@powayusd.com
Sr. ISSA Zoe Ng 2236 zng@powayusd.com